Product Review: Organix Coconut Milk Anti-Breakage Serum

Okay, I’m aware that we do a lot of hair product reviews here at Don’t Cho There, but it’s honestly hard out there for those of us with wavy/curly Chola hair. (Side note: the google image search for “Chola hair” is extremely rewarding).
Curls are dryer, and more prone to breakage; especially as it grows longer (But on the plus side, I read once that head lice have a harder time latching onto it! Yaaaaygross).
Also, many women with waves tend to use heat to style/straighten their hair.

Anyway, I always use conditioner/conditioning treatments, but I wanted to find some kind of finishing spray or serum to combat frizz/static.
I used the Organix Coconut Milk Shampoo and Conditioner a couple of years ago when it first came out; and while it was great and had a noticeable moisturizing effect, my roommate and I agreed that it was a little too perfumey and could give those with a sensitive sense of smell a headache as the day went on (Seriously, why does everything NEED to have a shit load of fragrance in it these days?).
Fortunately, that wasn’t the case with this product, the scent is far more subtle. You’re supposed to apply 1-2 small droplets of the serum to damp hair, so a little bit goes a long way; I’ve been pleasantly surprised that my hair has never felt greasy or grimy while using it. I mainly use it when I let my curls air-dry (I’ve recently quit being a slave to moouse/gel/alcohol hair products), but this stuff works wonders if you use it before blow-drying and flat-ironing as well.

I’ve also been trying to be more natural with my mane (only blow-drying or flat-ironing on certain occasions rather than every other day), and I can definitely feel the difference. It feels much softer and healthier. My new hair inspiration comes from the early 1900’s not Mel “Gibson Girl”, as well as 1970’s hotties Linda Ronstadt and Stevie Nicks. These ladies have made me more accepting of curly hangs and the possibility that they could be cute while being retro.
Also, this new natural-hair-fascination is a huge money and time saver!

About ashleyzuzu

I clean up nice.
This entry was posted in Hair/Nails/Makeup. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

