Creative Reader Inspiration: Heather’s Dress of Black Eyed Peas


Yesterday, my gorgeous friend and one of Don’t Cho There’s biggest supporters (thanks, gurrl) model/actress Heather Wilson, posted on facebook about her newest creative venture, and we’re very excited to share it.

It’s exactly what it sounds like, girlfriend made a dress out of Black Eyed Peas (no relation to Fergie). SO many props go out to people who aren’t afraid to think outside the box and express themselves through fashion by going above and beyond just shopping off the rack; and even more cred to those who can make it look adorable.

The concept and construction of Heather’s dress reminded me a bit of Anthony Ryan’s birdseed dress (that I was enthralled with) from the most recent ‘Project Runway’ season, and I am so thrilled to see something like this translate from tv-runway to real life!

Here’s what Heather had to say about her piece:

Excuse me.. you seem to have a little somethin’ somethin’ on your dre……….OH shit! You made that?

The inspiration for this dress was the bean itself, the black eyed pea. I’ve been known to play with my food.. but this? What is normally silly and outrageous to most….toots the hell out of my horn! So when I happen upon a bag of black eyed peas while searching for a tasty treat, I knew I had work to do. I took an old tank top of mine and glued on the black eyed peas in a pattern that I created. It took about 24 hours to glue on each bean and I used about two pounds of beans creating this dress.

LOVES it. Scroll down for more pics.


 

About ashleyzuzu

I clean up nice.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Get It, Gurl. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

