“Hart of Dixie” warms my cold heart

Today…is Monday.

I’m not gonna lie to you all: unlike most people, I like Mondays. This is mostly due to the fact that Monday is the one day of the week that I’m always guaranteed to never work past 6pm. And THIS means that I can watch my Monday night shows and paint my nails. (I know, I sound like a granny…)

Anywho, my Monday nights are occupied by the CW. Now, I don’t generally pay attention to the CW, mostly because a lot of the programming is crap these days. But, Monday nights are GLORIOUS. I can tune into my guilty-please “Gossip Girl” (this is the first time I’m admitting this…no one knows this guilty secret!) and one of my favorite new shows of the season, “Hart of Dixie.”

Okay, okay. So, “Hart of Dixie,” the story of a young New York doctor (Zoe Hart, played by Rachel Bilson) who moves to a small Alabama town (the fictional BlueBell) after inheriting a medical practice from a man she later learns is really her birth father and all of the trials and tribulations of her time there, is as cheesy as it sounds. Add in a former Pro-Bowl superstar mayor (who has a pet alligator named Burt Reynolds); the town ‘golden boy’ George, who lived in the big city for awhile, but decided small-town life was his true calling; George’s fiancée, Lemon (yes, that’s her name), a stereotypical Southern Belle who is always dressed in bright, happy colors; her father, the doctor that wants the town to himself, and therefore dislikes Zoe; and Wade, the town bad-boy (with an obvious ‘hart’ of gold…we’re just waiting to fully see it). Oh, and Zoe has an obvious attraction to George, despite his engagement, and an attraction that she herself hasn’t fully realized to Wade.

Okay, now that you have a brief overview of the show, I know you’re judging me. It sounds cheesy, lame, and predictable, doesn’t it? And yet, I LOVE IT. No lie. It’s addicting. And I will tell you why:

-Rachel Bilson is someone I could imagine being friends with.
She just seems so…cool and laid back. And her portrayal of fast-talking, bedside-manner-lacking, city girl Zoe is dead on. Okay, so I’ll admit, I’ve been an RB fan since “The O.C.” And she’s not the world’s best actress or anything. But she’s quirky and dresses well and is easy to relate to.  AND RB has been known to rock one of my favorite fall fashions: shorts, tights, and a blazer. YES.
-Crazy Southern stereotypes run rampant.
I am a big fan of making fun of things, and the way that this show makes fun of a Mayberry-esque world makes me smile. Everyone always seems either really colorful or really dirty. Plus, they have traditions like the Founder’s Day Parade and a Gumbo-making contest. GUMBO! YES.
-There is a ‘Full House’ moment in every episode.
Yes, that’s right. Each episode has some warm, fuzzy moment where a character learns something about either themselves or life. I just want Danny Tanner and Uncle Jesse to enter and hug it out with everyone.
-The local hangout is a bar called the Rammer Jammer.
There really isn’t anything I can say about that that it doesn’t say itself.
-The Mayor looks like this:
-PLUS, the town bad-boy looks like THIS:
(and he has a Southern drawl…*swoons* and *drools* all over the place) Okay, so normally, this is soooo not my type. He’s too light-haired, too ripped, has too perfect of cheekbones. But…DAMN. I’d take him home in a HARTbeat.

So, yeah. I think you should watch it.
“Hart of Dixie” Mondays at 8pm/7pm central.

I think his tractor's sexy...yums.

 

About saundramarie

Sometimes I think I may be taller than I am. Then I stand next to someone and realize I was wrong. Dead wrong. Follow me on Twitter @saundramarie
This entry was posted in TV. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

